Auckland Secondary School Cross Country Championships

The Westlake Cross Country Team had a very successful day at the Auckland Secondary School Cross Country Championships on Thursday 9th June in Pukekohe. The team of 55 boys won seven of the nine Auckland Titles on offer over a tough hilly course in windy conditions.

In the Junior grade the team won both the three and six person team titles with six runners finishing in the top thirteen. Jude Darby finished runner-up over the 4km course with Blair Hill 4th and JJ Weston in 6th place. They were well supported by Matt Gould 9th, Ben Lewis 10th and Arsh Kazi in 13th spot.

In the Intermediate grade over 4km, Murdoch McIntyre finished first leading the team to a three and six person team victory. With 115 runners in the race, the Westlake team had six runners in the top 16. Murdoch was well supported by David Moore 3rd, Jesper Bengtsson 9th, Josh Spraggon 12th, Nikola Sovljanski 14th and Daniel Robertson 16th.

Racing against the very best in Auckland, the Senior Boys won the three person title. Dan Hoy won the Senior grade 6km race with teammate Joseph Clark runner-up and Bradley Hall finishing 5th. Strong performances from Euan Grigor 16th, Oliver Heal 19th and Oscar England 23rd led to a second place finish for the six person team.

The excellent results are a testament to the hard work and dedication of all students and staff involved with Cross Country at Westlake. Westlake Boys would like to congratulate all boys on their astonishing achievement and especially Mr Theuns Strydom, Ms Helen Booth and Mrs Vanessa Shoobert, who dedicate many of their hours to the Cross Country and Distance Running programmes. The team look forward to continue their successes in the upcoming New Zealand Cross Country Championships in Rotorua on the 18th June.

Cross Country Champs

Auckland Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships Results (more photographs below)
Thursday 9 June 2016 – Pukekohe

Junior Boys
Three Person Team first and Six Person Team first
Jude Darby runner-up
Blair Hill 4th
JJ Weston 6th
Matt Gould 9th
Ben Lewis 10th
Arsh Kazi 13th

Intermediate Boys
Three Person Team first and Six Person Team first
Murdoch McIntyre first
David Moore 3rd
Jesper Bengtsson 9th
Josh Spraggon 12th
Nikola Sovljanski 14th
Daniel Robertson 16th

Senior Boys
Three Person Team 1st & Six Person Team 2nd
Dan Hoy first
Joseph Clark runner-up
Bradley Hall 5th
Euan Grigor 16th
Oliver Heal 19th
Oscar England 23rd