National Chess Champions


The New Zealand Interschool Chess Competition is an official New Zealand Chess Federation (NZCF) event. It is a team competition, with regional qualifying events followed by a National Final. It is run in separate sections for Primary (Year 1-6 students), Intermediate (Year 7-8 students) and Secondary schools (year 9-13 students).  This year’s New Zealand Interschool Chess finals were held at Mt Maunganui College on September 21-22, hosted by the Mt Maunganui RSA Chess Club.

Ten teams qualified for the Secondary finals with Westlake Boys’ High School qualifying first in the Auckland Secondary Zone. Westlake’s best round result was achieved by defeating the number one seed Auckland Grammar School 3-1.

Auckland Grammar had previously won the New Zealand title on many occasions and this important round result was the deciding factor in Westlake winning the New Zealand Interschool Chess title for the first time leaving their nemesis AGS trailing by 1.5 points. The National title is an excellent achievement for Westlake Boys’ High School and puts chess in the spotlight on the North Shore. The WBHS chess team would like to extend their special thanks to Bob Smith and Vivian Smith from the Mt Maunganui RSA Chess Club who delivered a very successful event.

NZ Secondary Champions, Westlake Boys’ High, left to right: Organiser and Chief Arbiter Bob Smith, Coach Mr Arnold van den Heuvel, Harry Cui, Hao Jia, Winston Yao, William Li and Assistant Arbiter Viv Smith.Results

  • 1st Westlake Boys’ High School – 24.5 points
  • 2nd Auckland Grammar School – 23 points
  • 3rd Macleans College – 21 points
  • 4th Asburton College – 13.5 points
  • 5th Otago Boys’ High School/Hamilton Boys’ High School – 12.5 points

More News in School News


Share this News